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SAWYER, P.J.

Plaintiff appeals the Court of Claims' order granting the University of Michigan Regents
(the university) summary disposition. MCR 2.116(C)(8) and (10). We affirm.

On December 12, 2007, plaintiff was injured in a car accident with a student, Samuel
Brennan, on the University of Michigan’s campus. The student was driving a car owned by the
university, while on university business. On May 7, 2008, plaintiff’s counsel sent a letter to the
university indicating that plaintiff’s counsel intended to represent plaintiff in a lawsuit over the
car accident. On October 31, 2008, plaintiff filed a notice of intent to file a claim in the Court of
Claims that was signed by plaintiff and plaintiff’s counsel. After plaintiff filed an action against
Brennan and the university, the trial court granted summary disposition in favor of the university
because plaintiff had not complied with MCL 600.6431(3).

The language of MCL 600.6431 clearly states the steps a plaintiff must take in order to
make a claim against the state:

(1) No clam may be maintained against the state unless the claimant,
within 1 year after such claim has accrued, files in the office of the clerk of the
court of claims either awritten claim or awritten notice of intention to fileaclaim
against the state or any of its departments, commissions, boards, institutions, arms
or agencies, stating the time when and the place where such claim arose and in
detail the nature of the same and of the items of damage alleged or claimed to
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have been sustained, which claim or notice shall be signed and verified by the
claimant before an officer authorized to administer oaths.

* * %

(3) In all actions for property damage or personal injuries, claimant shall
file with the clerk of the court of claims a notice of intention to file a claim or the
claim itself within 6 months following the happening of the event giving rise to
the cause of action.

The filing requirement is a condition precedent to sue the state. See Reich v Hwy Comm,
43 Mich App 284, 287-289; 204 NW2d 226 (1972). When interpreting statutes, the court looks
to the language of a statute first. Only if a statute is ambiguous or in conflict with another
provision does a court clarify through judicial construction. Lansing Mayor v Pub Serv Comm,
470 Mich 154, 157, 166; 680 NW2d 840 (2004). The Legidature is presumed to have written
the statute to mean what the Legislature intended it to mean. People v Gardner, 482 Mich 41,
50; 753 Nw2ad 78 (2008); Rowland v Washtenaw Co Rd Comm, 477 Mich 197, 219; 731 Nw2d
41 (2007). MCL 600.6431(3) clearly states that plaintiffs with personal injury claims shall filea
notice of intention to file the claim or the claim itself in the Court of Claims within six months of
the event giving rise to the claim.

Plaintiff argues that she has substantially complied with the statute, but substantial
compliance does not satisfy MCL 600.6431(3). Subsection (3) clearly states that a “claimant
shall file with the clerk of the court of claims. . . within 6 months following the happening of the
event....” (Emphasisadded.) The word “shall” designates a mandatory provision. Walters v
Nadell, 481 Mich 377, 383; 751 NW2d 431 (2008); People v Francisco, 474 Mich 82, 87; 711
NW2d 44 (2006). Clear statutory language must be enforced as written. Fluor Enterprises, Inc
v Treasury Dep’t, 477 Mich 170, 174; 730 NW2d 722 (2007); People v Gillis, 474 Mich 105,
115; 712 NW2d 419 (2006). Here, because plaintiff brought a personal injury claim, plaintiff
had to file a notice of intention to file a claim with the Court of Claims within six months of the
accident. She did not. The facts show that plaintiff filed a notice of intention to file a claim with
the Court of Claims months past the six-month statutory requirement. Plaintiff did not comply
with the requirements of MCL 600.6431(3).

Paintiff also argues that the state must show prejudice when a plaintiff does not comply
with a statutory filing requirement. But in Rowland, the Michigan Supreme Court overturned
several cases that had required the state to show actual prejudice when a plaintiff failed to
comply with a statutory filing requirement. Rowland, 477 Mich at 200, 213. The Court in
Rowland stated that because the language of the statute at issue in that case was clear regarding
its notice requirement, the Court would not give the statute any judicial construction. The filing
requirement was strictly applied. 1d. at 200 (interpreting the 120-day filing requirement of MCL
691.1404). The Court in Rowland returned to the well-founded principle that the Legislature is
presumed to have written what the Legislature meant, and courts will not use judicial
construction where the meaning of a statute is clear. Id. at 219. The filing requirement must be
applied asit iswritten.



We recognize that Rowland dealt with a different notice requirement than does this case.
There does not appear to be any published decision of either this Court or the Supreme Court that
definitively determines whether the Rowland rationale should also be applied to the notice
requirements of MCL 600.6431. Indeed, two justices of the Supreme Court disagreed on this
point in separate statements to an order denying leave to appeal in Beasley v Michigan, 483 Mich
1025 (2009). Then Chief Justice KELLY, in her concurring statement, rejected the defendant’s
argument that Rowland should be applied to the notice provision of MCL 600.6431(3),
concluding that Rowland was distinguishable because it dealt with a different statutory provision.
ld. at 1025 (KELLY, C.J., concurring). Justice CORRIGAN, on the other hand, in her dissenting
statement to the order denying leave to appeal, opined that Rowland does apply to the notice
provisions of MCL 600.6431. In particular, she noted that Rowland “rejected earlier caselaw
that had assumed notice provisions are unconstitutional if they do not contain a prejudice
requirement,” as well as the fact that the notice requirement in Rowland “is substantively
identical” to the notice provisions of MCL 600.6431. Id. at 1028 (CORRIGAN, J., dissenting).
Justice CORRIGAN also noted that the statute clearly provides that no claim may be maintained
unless the notice is filed with the Court of Claims, which did not happen. Id.

We conclude that Justice CORRIGAN’S view represents the better interpretation of the
issue. While Rowland did directly deal with a clam arising under the defective-highway
exception to governmental immunity, we, like Justice CORRIGAN, are not persuaded that the
Rowland rationale is somehow limited to MCL 691.1404. Indeed, one of the cases that Rowland
reviewed and regjected, Carver v McKernan, 390 Mich 96; 211 NW2d 24 (1973), overruled by
Rowland, 477 Mich 197, dealt with a six-month notice requirement under the Motor Vehicle
Accident Claims Act, MCL 257.1118. In regecting Carver and other cases, Rowland stated that
“[i]n reading an ‘actual prejudice’ requirement into the statute, this Court not only usurped the
Legidature’'s power but simultaneousy made legislative amendment to make what the
L egislature wanted—a notice provision with no prejudice requirement—impossible.” Rowland,
477 Mich at 213. Ultimately, Rowland, 477 Mich at 219, concluded that “MCL 691.1404 is
straightforward, clear, unambiguous, and not constitutionally suspect. Accordingly, we conclude
that it must be enforced as written.” The same can be said of MCL 600.6431(3).

1 Judge SawyER acknowledges that he was previously a member of a Court of Appeals panel
that issued an opinion that reached a different conclusion. Cunmulaj v Chaney, unpublished
opinion per curiam of the Court of Appeals, issued February 12, 2009 (Docket Nos. 282264 and
282265). Specifically, that opinion reached the conclusion that “[t]here is no reason to extend
our Supreme Court’s holding [in Rowland] to overturn the previous standard of substantial
compliance with statutory notice requirements in other statutes.” Id. at 3. Because Cunmulaj is
an unpublished opinion, it is of course not precedentialy binding. MCR 7.215(C)(1). Judge
SAWYER, upon giving the matter further consideration, is now persuaded that Cunmulaj
erroneously decided this point and disavows that opinion to the extent that it conflicts with the
opinion in the case at bar.



In sum, plaintiff did not comply with the plain language of the filing requirement of MCL
600.6431(3). Subsection (3) clearly requires that a plaintiff with a personal injury claim against
the state must file a notice of intention to file the claim or the claim itself with the clerk of the
Court of Claims within six months of the event giving rise to the claim. Plaintiff did not file her
notice of intention to file a claim with the Court of Claims until several months after the six-
month deadline had passed. Accordingly, the Court of Claims properly granted summary
disposition to the university.

Affirmed. Defendant University of Michigan Regents may tax costs.

/s David H. Sawyer
/s Henry William Saad



